In terms of organisational structure, the structure can be categorised into 3 levels.

1. AUN Board of Trustees (AUN-BOT) serves as policy-making body comprised of:

  • 10 university representatives, from each ASEAN Country, designated by the government of 10 ASEAN Countries
  • The Secretary-General of ASEAN (ex-officio)
  • The Chairperson of AUN Board of Trustee (Secretary-General of the Office of the Higher Education Commission, Thailand)
  • The Chairperson of Senior Official Meeting on Education (SOM-ED) (ex-officio)
  • Director of Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organisation (SEAMEO) (ex-officio)
  • The Executive Director of the AUN Secretariat as secretary

2. At the implementing level, AUN Member Universities participate and implement the programmes and activities under AUN.

Currently, AUN membership has extended to 30 Member Universities as follows:

Brunei Darussalam

Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD)


Royal University of Phnom Penh (RUPP)
Royal University of Law and Economics (RULE)


Universitas Gadjah Mada (UGM)
Universitas Indonesia (UI)
Inistitut Teknologi Bundung (ITB)
Universitas Airlangga (UNAIR)


National University of Laos (NUOL)


Universiti Malaya(UM)
Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM)


University of Yangon (UY)
Institute of Economics, Yangon (IEY)
University of Mandalay

The Philippines

De La Salle University (DLSU)
University of the Philippines (UP)
Ateneo de Manila University (ATMU)


National University of Singapore (NUS)
Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
Singapore Management University (SMU)


Burapha University (BUU)
Chulalongkorn University (CU)
Chiang Mai University (CMU)
Mahidol University (MU)
Prince of Songkla University (PSU)

Viet Nam

Vietnam National University, Hanoi (VNU-HN)
Vietnam National University-Ho Chi Minh (VNU-HCM)
Can Tho University (CTU)

3. The AUN Secretariat
The AUN Secretariat serves as a coordinating and monitoring body. Its main functions cover planning, organising, coordinating, monitoring and evaluating AUN programmes and activities. The AUN Secretariat’s tasks also include developing ideas, innovations and proposal for cooperation under AUN as well as to develop plans and mechanisms for sourcing and generating funds for self-reliant and self-sustaining operation of AUN. The AUN Secretariat is based at Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, Thailand, and works closely with the ASEAN Secretariat in coordinating and implementing regional cooperation activities on higher education.