The ASEAN University Network Secretariat falls under the Human Development Directorate of the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Department (ASCC Department) of the ASEAN Secretariat. 

The ASEAN University Network must report its activities to five different meetings which include:
1. Senior Officials Meeting on Education
2. ASEAN+3 Senior Officials Meeting on Education
3. ASEAN Education Ministers Meeting
4. ASEAN+3 Education Ministers Meeting
5. AUN Board of Trustees Meeting (which also serves as a policy meeting for the AUN)